What is PCI SSC?

By | February 26, 2016

The PCI Security Standards Council or “PCI SSC” is an independent industry standards body that develops and manages the payment card industry security standards on a global basis. The PCI SSC consists of five founding payment brand members:

-Visa, Inc.
-Discover Financial
-American Express
-MasterCard Worldwide
-JCB International

They maintain a very high level of support and are very active in the PCI Council and the direction we are taking.

The Council’s standards include the PCI Data Security Standard (DSS), the Payment Application Data Security Standard (PA-DSS), the Point-to-Point Encryption Standard (P2PE), the PIN Transaction Security Point of Interaction (PTS), Hardware Security Module and PIN standards (HSM), the Card Production standards, and all of their supporting documents.

A roster of QSAs, PA-QSAs, Point-to-Point QSAs, PCIPs and QIRs is also provided on the Council website, allowing for an individual’s credentials to be verified. The Council also maintains the list of validated payment applications, the list of certified PTS devices, and the list of P2PE validated solutions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *